2016 Debating Report

2016 Debating Junior Cmapus

Over the past three terms, St Andrews College has been competing in the 2016 CSDA Debating Competition. It has been a phenomenal season with our debaters going above and beyond by giving up their Friday nights to travel to different schools across Sydney to compete in each round of the competition.

Debating uses the skills of argument to debate and discuss important issues about our beliefs, government policies and proposals on how to improve the world or face up to problems in society. Debating builds a unique set of skills, helping students to analyse problems, think critically, synthesis arguments and present these ideas in a clear and convincing manner. Most importantly, it is a fun and enjoyable experience for all students involved!

Our debaters have shown tremendous skill and dedication throughout the competition and they are all to be commended on a wonderful season of debating.

The 2016 debating teams consisted of the following students:

7A – Riya Chauhan, Ella Smith, Christine Kom

7B – Thomas McKinley, Leon Davis, Aryan Nair

8A – Shreya Bhaskar, Cinthia Thind, Hashwitaa Maynoor

8B – Anok Angok, Sonali Singh, Shivani Raman

9A – Ebony O’Connor, Sarah Wonson, Gilbert Bautista

9B – Riddhi Gupta, Mickaella Douglas, Andre Sen

10A – Larissa Isakov, Jan Vallar, Nupur Makwana

10B – Raymond Briffa, Preity Nair, Vishishta Ramanathan

11A – Peter-Joseph Deghaim, Briant Longabella, Mikie Mouxouris

11B – Jonathan Koong, Janelle Garcia, Jeric Gould-Matienzo, Angelo Pascoa, Nicholas Carroll

Senior Opens A – Marc Isakov, Khang Nguyen, Anthony Periera,

Senior Opens B – Erin Gray, Emma Mulholland, Stephen Vassilopolous, Thomas San Pedro, Noel Amoranto

Every single team debated to the best of their ability and it was fantastic to see them all improve each week. It was a very successful season for the College with the 8A and Senior Opens A Debating Teams making it through to the Elimination Rounds. Our Senior Opens A team also won their Quarter-Final Round and finished the competition as Semi-Finalists. This is an amazing and hard-earned achievement and a great end to their Debating career at the College. Well done to Marc, Khang and Anthony!

During the season St Andrews College hosted four rounds of the debating competition and it was amazing to see so many students volunteer their time to act as chairpersons and timekeepers. Thank you so much to every single student who was involved and offered their assistance – particularly those students who helped out all four times! I’d also like to thank Muriel Mastrippolito for her wonderful catering efforts each round.

St Andrews College would not be able to enter the Debating Competition if it wasn’t for the wonderful staff at the College who gave up their time each week to support the students. Firstly I would like to thank the teachers who came to show their support throughout many rounds; Miss Andrea Mansfield, Mrs Anita Weaver, Mr Nathan Weaver, Mr John Morrissey and Mrs Carol Martin.

Another integral part of the debating process and a part that the students most value is the time that staff members have taken to adjudicate debates throughout the season and act as a source of support and guidance.  For this, I would like to thank Ms Lyndal Simmonds, Miss Jessica Bisazza, Mr Duncan Dewar, Mr Garry Boardman, Miss Stephanie Llave, Miss Stephanie Dito, Mr Andrew Kuchappan and Mrs Frances Kramer. I would also like to thank Lewis Manalili, Stephanie Mulholland, Ryan Mahon and Marilyn Bellet who are past students of the College whose love of debating had them volunteering to come back and adjudicate for the College. I would like to especially mention Mr Travis Kolek who not only coached the senior teams but also adjudicated debates and drove students in the school bus to all the venues around Sydney each week. Finally, I would like to thank Mr Vidot for his continuous support of the Debating Competition; all teams appreciate and value his support and guidance across the season.

Thank you once again to all students, staff members and parents for your support of the 2016 CSDA Debating Competition. It has been a wonderful season and I am immensely proud of the entire St Andrews College community.

Miss Emily Pett
Debating Coordinator